Chicken Tortilla Soup

It’s my boss’ birthday today – Happy birthday, H-dawg! – and as a surprise I made Chicken Tortilla Soup last night for today’s lunch, along with enough for him to take home and share with his sweet wife.

I’m low carbing it and he’s (and his wife) not, but it was really easy to adjust it to both tastes.

I used the recipe listed below.  It is very unlike me to use only one recipe, especially when I’m making something for the first time.  I usually like to combine three, so that’s what I did.

Meghan’s Chicken Tortilla Soup
(print recipe)

1 onion, chopped
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 T. olive oil
2 tsp. chili powder
1 tsp. dried oregano
1 tsp. cumin
1 28-oz. can diced tomatoes
32 oz. chicken broth
1 14-oz. can corn, drained
2 boneless chicken breast halves, cooked and shredded into bite-size pieces (roasted deli chicken works great!)
2 tsp. freshly squeezed lime juice

optional garnishes:
fresh avocado, cut into 1″ chunks
fresh mozzarella, cut into 1″ chunks
chopped fresh cilantro
chopped green onions
tortilla crisps (shown in photos, found near the croutons and salad toppings in the fresh produce area)
fresh lime slices

In a medium stock pot, heat oil over medium heat.  Saute onion and garlic in oil until soft.  Stir in chili powder, oregano, cumin, tomatoes, and broth.  Bring to a boil and simmer for 5 to 10 minutes.  Stir in corn, chicken, and lime juice.  Simmer for 10 minutes, or until heated throughout.

Place avocado and mozzarella in the bottom of individual serving bowls.  Ladle the soup over the top.  Cheese will stay in its form but become melted and ooey-gooey…yummy!  Top with cilantro, green onions, and tortilla crisps (or Tostitos ‘hint of lime’ tortilla chips instead of the tortilla crisps), with slices of fresh lime on the side.

The changes I made:

  • I added 2 diced jalapeno peppers to the onion and garlic to be sauteed (from here).  Please note you have to be VERY careful when handling these peppers (unfortunately, this is from experience).  GuidelinesA tip from my roomie, Laura #2, is to use the grocery bag they come in as a make-shift glove.  Tried it, worked great!
  • I added 2 Tbsp. of enchilada sauce to the broth, diced tomatoes, and spices.  (recipe from here, but I lowered the amount used by A LOT)
  • The two additions above added a bit of a kick, and I wasn’t sure how much of a kick, so I only used half (1 tsp, instead of 2) of red chili powder. 

After tasting it, my mouth didn’t burn, but there’s no doubt there is something spicy in it.  Just right for me (and H-dawg), but depending on preference, you may need more or less of these three ingredients.

  • With 5 minutes left to cook, I added the cut up mozzarella cheese.  (it does clump a bit.  it’s probably best to add to the bottom of the bowl, as the recipe suggests)
  • I also made homemade tortilla strips by baking corn tortillas that I sliced.  Super easy!

To keep this low carb, I separated about one-third of the soup into a container for my consumption.  To the remaining two-thirds I added roasted corn (bought this in the frozen section at Trader Joe’s) and heated for 5 more mins, and then put into a container for my boss and his wife.

For lunch, he garnished w/ tortilla strips, and I opted for fresh cilantro and avocado.  It so fun to know how easy it is personalize this to diet and allergy restrictions, and the many garnish options available.  I probably never would have thought of mozzarella cheese on my own!

This will definitely make a steady rotation during this upcoming Winter!

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Heather.B

I'm a thirty-something (how did I get so old?!) esthetician (Jan 2009), soon-to-add holistic services (Jan 2013), and then onto business school with a few more endeavors in the works. Stayed tuned though as this changes often. I call it "what-to-be-when-I'm-a-grown-up ADD" - but here's a great quote of encouragement if you're similar in nature: “The experience of centering was one I particularly sought because I thought of myself as dispersed, interested in too many things. I envied people who were ‘single-minded,’ who had one powerful talent and who knew when they got up in the morning what it was they had to do. Whereas I, wherever I turned, felt the enchantment: to the window for the sweetness of the air; to the door for the passing figures; to the teapot, the typewriter, the knitting needles, the pets, the pottery, the newspaper, the telephone. Wherever I looked I could have lived. It took me half my life to come to believe I was okay even if I did love experience in a loose and undiscriminating way and did not know for sure the difference between good and bad. My struggles to accept my nature were the struggles of centering.” – [from Centering in Pottery, Poetry, and the Person by Mary Caroline Richards] I'm a lover of animals (especially my bird and cat), my niece and nephew (and #3 on HER way), and plants; an avid crochet-er (and other crafty things), amateur photographer, baker extraordinaire, dreamer of travels far away (camping and road trips settle me for now), searcher of different music, and beloved daughter of The King. Add in a penchant for being taught new things, and you've got a good idea of what you're dealing with here. I, also, have an endocrine disorder (PCOS) that causes me to have a low carb diet and an insatiable appetite for holistic health (along with a big butt) - I console myself with the reminder that there are worse things, like being eaten by an alligator. Lastly, I've found I get bored easily and procrastinate like it's my job. So who knows how steadily I'll contribute to this. Welcome! If you choose to read this, I've warned you fairly ;), and I really hope you enjoy the variety of my life. Please send me a note and let me know about you!

3 responses to “Chicken Tortilla Soup”

  1. jeff mcdowell says :

    I have a good recipe for gorilla cookies but my neighbor moved so I lost the mold. Bahahaha!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. I keep my cilantro in the freezer | Musings of Heatherly.B - 16 January 2012

Leave a Reply

